Who is eligible?

  • Inductees must be an Australian citizen at the time of their achievement.
  • Nominees can be active or retired from competition.
  • While the awards’ focus is on individual achievements a crew, owner(s) or designer(s) are all eligible to enter.



  • Sailor (Athlete) – those who have competed at the highest level of competition or through personal endeavour in sailing.
  • General – administration, coaching, sports science/medicine, media, race officials, judging, and designers.


Sailor (Athlete) Category

  • Superior achievement at the highest level of competition or personal endeavour.
  • Performance of a particularly outstanding sailing achievement that warrants special recognition.
  • The degree of difficulty for a nominee to attain the highest level of achievement.
  • That person’s integrity, sportsmanship and character.
  • Support/respect of their peers.


General Category

High level of achievement from personal effort or initiative in sailing that contributes to the performances of athletes or to the development and status of sailing. A nominee in this category will need to have made a major contribution at the international, national or state level to sailing and have been:

  • An innovation initiator who has significantly contributed to the development of the sport internationally/nationally
  • An achiever at the highest levels of office
  • A coach who has achieved outstanding results at international and/or national level and had success in World Championships, Olympics, and/or competitions including national and state level or have achieved outstanding results or performances
  • Officials who have achieved recognition for excellence at an international, national or state level at events such as (but not restricted to) World Championships, Olympics, Americas Cup



Australian Sailing in partnership with the Australian National Maritime Museum